National Doubles Men’s Open Final Decided On Double Championship Point; Betts Repeats Women’s Open Title

The men's open final, l-r: Preston Quick, Thomas Brinkman,

The men’s open final, l-r: Preston Quick, Thomas Brinkman, Fred Reid (front), Graham Bassett.

National Doubles Draws
For the ninth time in the tournament’s eighty-one years, Buffalo, New York, hosted the U.S. Squash Doubles Championships this weekend at the Buffalo Club, Buffalo Tennis & Squash Club, Computer Task Group and Saturn Club.

The tournament was first held in Buffalo in 1937 and most recently in 1997. Local tournament co-chairs Mike McGorry and David Koehler and honorary co-chair Gordon Anderson organized the weekend.

A full slate of finals on Sunday concluded in dramatic fashion with a double championship ball at 14-14 in the fifth game between two SDA pairings: top seeds Graham Bassett & Preston Quick and Canadian three seeds Fred Reid & Thomas Brinkman. After nearly two hours on court, Brinkman fired off a cross court winner to end the match and claim their maiden national doubles title.

It marked just the third time in tournament history that the men’s open title came down to a double match point, which previously had occurred in 1988 by Ryan & Sheppard, and 1964 with Howe & Danforth.

In the women’s Open final, Dana Betts successfully defended her 2015 title—which she won with Natalie Grainger—with fellow WSDA player Stephanie Hewitt.

Betts & Hewitt took the title in a three-game final, defeating two seeds Dawn Gray & Amy Milanek to win their second title together, adding to the 2013 Open title.

The men’s 40+ final involved some former touring doubles pros in the form of Steve Scharff and Michael Pirnak. Top seeds Chris Deratnay & Scharff edged out a close final 15-12 in the fifth to defeat Pirnak & Douglas Hoffberger.

Twin sisters Berkely Belknap Revenaugh & Mary Belknap Mckee won a third consecutive women’s 40+ title together, losing just one game all tournament in the final against Gray & Milanek.

Men’s 45+ two seeds Scott Dulmage & Rich Thomson didn’t lose a game on the way to their first title together since the 40+ in 2012, including a dominant final victory over top seeds and defending champions Scott Stoneburgh & Jeff Mulligan.

Ed Chilton & Andrew Slater successfully defended their men’s 50+ title against 2012 and 2013 50+ champions, Dominic Hughes & Rich Sheppard in a three-game final.

Kat Grant & Lissen Tutrone won their first title since the 2011 40+, by defeating three-time defending champions Sara Luther & Joyce Davenport in a three-game final.

2015 men’s 55+ finalists Patrick Miller & Pete Bostwick went one better, winning their first national doubles title in a four-game final against two seeds Eben Hardie & Ivan Hunt.

Andrew Nehbas won his fifth National Doubles title and first with Kipp Gould in the 60+ final, taking down defending champions and five-time 55+ champions Sandy Tierney & Sean Mcdonough in three games.

After winning the 2015 65+ title together, John Brazilian and Gordon Anderson found themselves on opposing teams in the 65+ title. Anderson & Michael Pierce defeated Brazilian & Malcolm Davidson in a four-game final.

2014 65+ champions David Potter & Chris Wheeler won their first 70+ title by dethroning Tony Swift & Molson Robertson.

For all results visit the National Doubles tournament page. Watch live stream replays here.